Chairman: Sem Grootscholten | voorzitter.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org

My name is Sem Grootscholten and I have the honor of being the chairman of the board this year. I am 27 and I have been active for a while at DWARS. I used to be the chairman of the education comity and the schooling comity and was on the board of Leiden-Haaglanden last year as well. I am currently finishing my
studies, Public Administration, at the university of Leiden in The Hague. Furthermore, I am on the board of GroenLinks South-Holland and an active member and candidate in my home city of Delft for GroenLinks. I am a parttime tutor in economics and physics at a high school. In my spare time I like to hang out with friends, read or watch series. I am looking forward to the coming year and am always available for a conversation. This can be either to get to know me, introduce yourself or talk about politics. I am open for everything. I am eager to work hard for DWARS this year and I am exited to meet you all at our (hopefully
offline) activities.

Secretary: Jannet Harthoorn | secretaris.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org

More than 27 years ago I was born in Drenthe, but nowadays I  spend every day in Leiden. I don’t study anymore. In December 2020 I finished my master Journalism and New Media. I now work as a social media specialist and copywriter in Rotterdam and freelance as a graphic designer.

In my spare time I like to go vintage shopping, kickboxing or walking. I am also busy learning a new language: Spanish!

Within DWARS I think it is important to give a lot of attention to feminist themes, and I am currently immersing myself in the world of waste.

Treasurer: Daan de Leur | penningmeester.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org

Hi! My name is Daan, I am 22 years old and I am currently living in The Hague. I have just finished my Bachelor at Leiden University College, majoring in Earth, Energy & Sustainability – sustainability is a real passion of mine! I am actually quite new to DWARS, but I am very motivated to get to know more people within DWARS and contribute as being part of the board – starting as the treasurer! Regarding politics, I am very interested in the environment, education, and socio-economic inequality. In my free time, I love to read, draw and paint (including body art!), watch films and series, make and listen to music, and have political or philosophical conversations. I am looking forward to meeting you!

Boardmember Promotion & Recruitment: Sara van Hees | promoledenwerving.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org 

My name is Sara, I am 22 years old and I am currently studying Public Administration at Leiden University in The Hague. I graduated from Mediamanagement and I have a propaedeutic certificate at the School of Journalism.

From an early age I have been interested in left-wing, green politics and I am very excited to work for a greener and more social political climate. This is already my second year on the board, because it is still too much fun to stop. As a board member for Promotion and Recruitment, I can combine my affinity with both media and politics.

This year the municipal elections are held and I am looking forward to working on a strong campaign with DWARS and GroenLinksIn addition, I want to make all members enthusiastic about all activities and promotions that DWARS has to offer.

In my spare time I like to cook (and eat it of course) and visit thrift stores to shop for 40s-50s clothes. I hope to see you soon at the activities of DWARS! Lots of love, Sara

General boardmember: Soesha Sandker | algemeen.bestuurslid.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org

Hi! My name is Soesha, I’m 18, and I live since April 2021 in The Hague. I study European Studies at The Hague University of Applied Sciences and I’m currently in my second year. When I’m home I play the guitar, watch Netflix, read books, (try) to be creative somehow, go on little walks, go thrift-shopping and I’m a new plant moma! At the moment I’m the proud owner of 7 plants, who are still alive! One of my greater achievements in life ;). Furthermore, I like to organize events and create plans and being able to stick my nose in everything. I am really looking forward to the new year, and hope to discover the Leiden-Haaglanden department!

General boardmember: Pauline Thoomes | algemeen.bestuurslid.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org
Hi everyone! My name is Pauline (she/her), I’m 27 years old and I live in Alphen aan den Rijn. I’m a teacher of English at high school and I teach the most amazing vocational classes (‘vmbo’). Besides that, I’m active within Extinction Rebellion and I’m a candidate for GroenLinks for the Municipal Council of Alphen aan den Rijn.
Leaving behind a planet on which life is still possible and tackling
inequality are things in which I invest a lot of my time. In my spare time I like being active outside (walking, cycling, running) and I love going to hardstyle parties.
Ever since I became a member of DWARS, I have only experienced online activities due to the pandemic. I can’t wait to meet all of you in real life in the upcoming year. Do you have awesome ideas for our department or would you like to see a certain topic recur more often in our activities? Hit me up! I’m always open to everyone’s input and love a good conversation

General boardmember: Devy Oedairam | algemeen.bestuurslid.leiden-haaglanden@dwars.org

Hi everybody! My name is Devy, I am 21 years old and I live in The Hague. I study Psychology in Rotterdam and Law in Leiden. In my spare time I enjoy reading, seeing family and friends, watching movies and series and walking (a recently developed corona hobby :p). I am also interested in socio-economic equality, mental health care, education and international politics. Within DWARS I would like to commit myself to an inclusive department in the coming year where we can learn (even more) from and with each other. So I’m looking forward to meet a lot of DWARSers :).